Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recovery Netbackup Master/Media server and MSDP

AndresV
Level 6
Partner    VIP   

Hi guys,

I have a Master/media (same server) is running in a Windows 2008 R2.

I´m planning to move it to another blank hardware with windows 2012 I will keep same hostname and IP address (of course I will shutdown the first one). The MDSP is on a san disk (drive F) so after reinstalling windows I will present it to the new server using same drive letter.

I was reading Netbackup 811 Troubleshoting guide and I found this (pag 158).

"1 Install a minimal Windows operating system (perform the Express install).
■ Install the same type and version of Windows software that was used
previously."

My question is, according the extract above, Veritas wont support this process? What should be the steps to accomplish this?

How do I import those images, considering the drive F is intact and all images are there? 

Thanks guys.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Mouse
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

This might be confusing, but the troubleshooting guide is for troubleshooting and typically the easiest way to troubleshoot a problem is to use the same components that's my assumption why this guide is written this way. 

Veritas will support a migration between Windows versions, see the relevant guide here: https://www.veritas.com/content/support/en_US/article.100022623.html

For your specific case, I'd suggest two things that will make the migration a bit easier:

1. Don't store NBU catalog backup on MSDP itself. Put it on Basic or Advanced Disk or tape
  2. Make a record of MSDP pool credentials. You may need them to re-add the pool, there is a procedure to reset them but it's an additional step which is avoidable

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Mouse