cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Registering media server in EMM DB

NBU35
Level 6

1) If my media server has multiple interfaces(int1, int2, int3), but due to some issue only one interface(int1) is registered in EMM DB i.e nbemmcmd -listhosts only list int1 as media server.
can I register remaining interfaces right away with nbemmcmd command in running environment or do I have to follows some certian steps? 

nbemmcmd -addhost -machinename int2 -machinetype media -masterserver master -netbackupversion 7.6.0.3 -operatingsystem windows

2) If I have a master server in cluster & a new media server is also in cluster and I have to register this media server to EMM DB, then in command nbemmcmd -addhost parameter -activenodename & -clustername  will refer  to cluster of master or media server.?

Thanks in Advance !!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

sdo
Partner    VIP    Certified
In which case you have naming/routing issues. When one does not have much experience of multi-homed NetBackup servers, or networking in general, then it is best to begin in depth close contact dialogue with your network (and maybe server too) administrators - the problems that you are facing cannot be solved here. Several teams need to work closely together.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

I think it would be best to use the -machinealias -addalias command if it has more than one "name" for the same server to prevent confusion as it is a media server

sdo