cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Remote Admin Console can't connect

Mark_Henrie_2
Level 4
I have a Linux SLES9 Master server and I am trying to connect to the server via remote admin console installed on a Windows XP machine. I have added the XP box to the bp.conf file as well as make sure its under the Server tab in the Host properties for the master. and I have permissions on the master server. i've even tried to login with root. Nothing works. I just can't get it to connect. Am I doing anything obviously wrong?

Please Help.

Thanks

Mark
12 REPLIES 12

Dennis_Strom
Level 6
Is the the remote console the some rev as the server? Is the server in the local bp.conf? can you ping it?

scored_well2
Level 4
Certified
If ping and bpclntcmd work from both locations, have you recycled the NBU daemons on the Linux machine? Not sure if you have to in Linux but a lot of config changes require it in both Wintel and Unix.

Mark_Henrie_2
Level 4
Yes i can ping and bpclntcmd to and from both machines. Its like there is an authentication issue when connecting. Everything is setup right. And I have recycled the daemons a few times...

Mark_Henrie_2
Level 4
Yes, they are both 6.0mp3. The remote XP machine is listed in the bp.conf

DavidParker
Level 6
Mark,
Please let me know if I understand your setup correctly: You are attempting to run the Admin Console from a Windows XP machine (this machine is not a master or media server, just a regular PC) and connect it to your master server? Also, I take it that the Java Console is not an acceptable choice?

There are 2 things you need to do to set something like that up.
1) Add the XP machine's hostname into the 'allowed servers' list, which it sounds like you've done.

2) Add the ID that you login to the XP machine with to the 'Authentication' tab in the master server properties screen. This part takes a little fiddling with, but should work.