cancel
Showing results forΒ 
Search instead forΒ 
Did you mean:Β 

Remote SQL backup processes kicking off, but hanging, or "running" and not reporting in NB Console

agardner
Level 3

Hello Symantec Forums!

I am a datacenter operator for a major manufacturing customer of Symantec, and am running into an issue.

I am attemping to automate the kicking-off of missed SQL backups via Powershell. My basic question is this:

Why do some backup processes kicked off remotely with "dbbackex.exe" simply sit there and apparently do nothing? And why do others apparently run (see below) but don't register a backup in NB console?

Our SQL DBA's created a stored procedure that reports on backups that do not complete successfully in a 24 hour period. That report is used by the script to run "dbbackex.exe" against each server and back up everything that was missed. It uses this call with appropriate credentials:

$global:dbbackp -f `"d:\netbackup_adhoc.bch`"

(where $global:dbbackp represents the registry-extracted installation path for Netbackup on each box)

It does this in two ways:

1. If a standard netbackup.bch file exists in a defined location, it makes a copy of certain properties of that file and inserts them sequentially into another .bch file, one after another, like so:
OPERATION BACKUP
DATABASE "FAST_Query_Service_Application_DB_e451b6"
SQLHOST "XXX1"
SQLINSTANCE "Q2A"
NBSERVER "YYY"
STRIPES 2
MAXTRANSFERSIZE 6
BLOCKSIZE 7
POLICY sql-np
NUMBUFS 2
ENDOPER TRUE

OPERATION BACKUP
DATABASE "FAST_Search_Service_Application_DB_3b0d8"
SQLHOST "XXX1"
SQLINSTANCE "Q2A"
NBSERVER "YYY"
STRIPES 2
MAXTRANSFERSIZE 6
BLOCKSIZE 7
POLICY sql-np
NUMBUFS 2
ENDOPER TRUE

2. If the standard .bch file does not exist in the standard location, I have it write an arbitrary .bch file, omitting the policy and a couple others. Vanilla. Like so:

OPERATION BACKUP
DATABASE $ALL
SQLHOST "XXX1"
SQLINSTANCE "Q2A"
NBSERVER "YYY1"
ENDOPER TRUE

Here is the end output running the script: