cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Restore error "Pipe Close Failed". Please help :-(

jonnyguitar
Level 4

Hi all.  I have a "pipe close failed" error during a restore and I'd be so grateful if you could help please.  

I am using 3 servers, all running Windows Server 2008 and Netbackup 7.1

The servers are:

• Master Server
  • Media Server (physically connected to a Dell ML6000 library)
  • File Server (where I am running the client).

I am running the restore from the Backup, Archive and Restore GUI on the Master Server, doing a right-click and run-as administrator.  I am also a domain admin.  

I can go file>specify NetBackup Machines and Policy Type, and then check the server names against the exact ones listed in the catalog.  I then click "Select for restore" and after 10 seconds or so, I get the message "ERROR: pipe close failed".

There are no comms errors.  Each machine can ping each other machine.

I have logging turned on but I cannot paste the info here I'm afraid.   What sort of thing should I be looking for and in what log?  I am also restricted from uploading screen shots.

Any advice would be fab.  Thanks

9 REPLIES 9

sksujeet
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

First check basics:

The 'server to use for backup and restore' must ALWAYS be the master serve

source client must be the client for which you want to restore data.

Destination: same or other client.

Policy type: the policy type as per the backup policy that performed the backup.

If above all are right then make sure the client name is exactly same the way it gets backed up, if it is FQDN or hostname it should be added the same way here as well. I have seen it before if it is not matching exactly the same way.

Try using nslookup and make sure it resolves the name properly.

Make sure no firewall which might block anything.

What about restoring it from the Master or Media server?

jonnyguitar
Level 4