cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Restore-overwrite file option

siri416
Level 4

Hi All,

If we are restoring the data to the same location and data is already there , and not checking allow overwrite option , How it will restore the data

 

Will it skip the files to be restored or will it create a second copy ?

 

Thanks.

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

Yes - though normally you would want an incremental backup to use the over write option so that after you have completed all restores you end up with all of the latest files on your server

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Ashish-Sharma
Level 6
Accredited

Hi,

Check this artical

About the NetBackup restore options

 

Article:HOWTO43831  |  Created: 2011-03-08  |  Updated: 2011-03-17  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO43831

 

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

It will skip any that exist if you have not selected any options.

It will restore any that do not exist

You do also have the option to restore using a temporary file name if it already exists so you have that option too

Hope this helps

Vickie
Level 6

 

If you'll not select the Overwrite option if will skip the files that do exist already and will restore the files that has been removed or deleted.
 
 
 
 
 

siri416
Level 4

Thank you all for your responses ..

If we initiate the restore 1 with full backup data and it completed .

After that if we fire restore from incremental backup without overwrite option , then in such case , it will skip the files if they are already there ,if not restore them..right ?

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

Yes - though normally you would want an incremental backup to use the over write option so that after you have completed all restores you end up with all of the latest files on your server

View solution in original post