cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Restoring a backup from one month ago

nvincideol
Level 3

Hello, I am kinda new to this topic. I have been running backups for awhile now, but face a new issue. We have five magazines of tapes -- each magazine is a week. I want to restore a NetBackup 7.0 full backup from one month ago, but all NetBackup shows in the Restore window is last week's backup. How do I display, say 8/25/12 and restore its backup? I have the magazine from one week ago. Will the tapes be overwritten this week since the magazine is repeated?

I've read a few forum posts, but don't know what these commands do:
  /usr/openv/netbackup/bin/admincmd/bpexpdate -recalculate [-backupid backup_id]   [-copy number] -d date |0|infinity][-client name] [-policy name] [-ret retention_level] [-sched type] [-M master_server[,...,]]

With best regards,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

Check the default application schedule retention - this is the one that sets the retention period and not the one you vreate that governs when the backup actually runs

For this type of backup you usually need Daily, Weekly and Monthly policies so that each one gets a suitable retention period in the application schedule

I am guessing that this is the case and you will need to import the tapes (phase1 and phase 2) as outlines above before you will be able to do a restore

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

revarooo
Level 6
Employee

Do you have access to the Netbackup GUI? If so use the Backup, Archive and Restore section and restore your files. You can set a date range in there.

nvincideol
Level 3

Yes, but the date range of, say, 8/1/12 -- 9/25/12 doesn't find anything but last week (which isn't on the magazine that is in).

Thanks

revarooo
Level 6
Employee

Are you selecting the correct Policy Type in the restore selection.