cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Retetion Level Issue in the Vault Duplication Process

WilliamSilva
Level 2
Certified

I have a Master Server, that is also a media server, Running on Solaris 10 Operational System and netbackup 6.5.4. We have Vault duplication and offsite configured in the enviroment. The Policies are configured to 1 month retention level. The backups are finishing successfully, so the vault process and duplication. After that the tapes goes to offsite location.

A few weeks ago, I realized that the expirations for backup policies were set to 3 months. I did some monitoring and discovered that right after the backups run, the correct expiration is set (1month), but after the Vault Offsite duplication process is run, the expiration of those very same backups are changed to 3 mounths.

I don't understand why the Vault process is changing the expiration dates of the originals images. I thought the Offsite retention were applied to only the copies, so I tried manually to  expire the duplicated images and it affected the original expiration date, too.

Now i can't expire the duplicated imagens and my tapes are spending too much time to get back the office.

Anyone here have ever seen this bug?

I'm waiting for some help. Thanks in advance.
4 REPLIES 4

RamNagalla
Partner    VIP    Certified

make sure you are  specify the copy no while you are expiring the images... if you dont specify the copy no.. it will expire all the cops...

/usr/openv/netbackup/bin/bpexpdate -backupid <backupid> -d 0 -copy <copyno>

above command should only expire the copy that  you specified.. so specify the copy no.. which you want to expire...

about the retenction chage.. in the Vault duplications.. . we may need to check.. the vault profile...

in the Vault porfile... we will have a option to keep the same retenction.. 

make sure that is selected.. and did not have any option to chage in retenction...

WilliamSilva
Level 2
Certified

Nagala,