Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SLP Scheduling

matias_martini
Level 3
Partner

Hi!

I'm having the following scenario:

I have a lot of policies with different schedules and retentions, and I use multiples copies.

I have a master/media server, but I want to add 2 new media servers and stop using the master as media server.

The problem is that I need to use both media servers with my 2 tape libraries, and I don't have SSO licence.

So I wanted to use SLP to make the multiples copies (backup+duplication), but I'm realizing that I need to create a separate SLP for each schedule, and another for each retention. I have near 90 policies, so doing this it's going to be a mess.

There's is any chance of use the scheduling of the policy instead of the SLP scheduling?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Good.

Note the "License Meter" column under the Enterprise Server heading:

"Per Tiered Server" means 1 license per server, according to OS family and number of CPUs.

As a Partner/Reseller, you need to understand licensing requirements and not run the risk of deploying unsupported / illegal configurations in your or your customers' environments. 

Only if you have full Capacity license can you deploy any amount of servers, agents and options.

Again - if you / your customer need 2 additional servers, they should be able to afford SSO option as well.

Don't over-complicate the environment. 

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

nbutech
Level 6
Accredited Certified

You do not need multiple policies

SLP is a storage type of policy, so essentially it is a (series of) storage destination

Try looking at the guide below and see what best you can do to reduced the number

You can also refer the guide below

NetBackup 7.5 Best Practice - Using Storage Lifecycle Policies

http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO73205

Hi!