cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Selective Catalog backup within 7.5

wojo
Level 3

Hi again and thank you in advance for your assistance.

I have a HP-UX master running 7.5.0.6. The catalog backup is quite large and the client has not been keeping the production and matching DR servers sync'd as far as file system size. Upon arriving at the DR, the initial catalog restore failed due to not enough space. I tried to create more space, but unfortunately not enough. Is there a way to restore the catalog for only the clients I'm attempting to restore?

And, moving forward, is there a way to a catalog backup for only the clients that I wish to restore at the next DR?

Thanks again!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited
My suggested steps would work - recover the NBDB (not that large) and then browse the catalog tape as a normal backup and select only the clients you want to resore under /usr/openv/netbackup/db/images ... Provding NBU is installed at the same version and has no issues, the fact that you ae not recovering all the NBU config files should matter, though you can pick and chose what you want as you browse the catalog tape. I can't think of any other way, this as you are aware, is not (proper) DR as you are not recovering the catalog as it was - it is probably also unsupported, but that it what happens when the DR system is insufficient to meet requirements of a proper DR - though I can't see why it won't work - you would probably need to reconfigure drives, but there is a wizard so thats easy enough.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited