cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sharing of EMM DB with different master Servers.

rakesh_k
Level 4

Hi All,

I am trying to configure multiple master server with a single EMM DB.

I have a Master server with a EMM DB(Windows Server 2008), now I configured one more Master server(HP-UX v3) with the EMM database pointing to the previous master server. While doing so, at one instant, I am able to do backups from one Master server only.

Can anyone share some best practice to go for this configuration.

The Netbackup version is 7.5

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

You will have to deploy a new master/emm server with own set of devices.

A Symantec Consulting Partner will be able to help migrate chosen media servers and clients to the new master.

See http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH31385

Symantec has developed comprehensive methodologies to handle a variety of reconfiguration requirements including the following scenarios:

• Migration from an existing master server to a NetBackup appliance master server
  • Merging of two or more domains
  • Splitting of a domain into two or more domains
  • Clustering of a non-clustered Master Server
  • Renaming of a Master Server or Media Server
  • Moving a Master Server to a new machine involving a host name change
  • Moving a Master Server to a different platform/operating system (Windows to Linux/Unix or Linux/Unix to Windows)
  • Un-clustering a clustered Master Server

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Marianne
If I remember correctly, the theory was there in NBU 6.0 that one HMM server could be used for multiple masters, but it has never worked. One master per EMM server is the only way I have ever been able to config NBU.

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited

I don't believe this is supported anymore, or, if it is it is will be dropped in a future version.