cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sis common store files may be getting locked during backup

Pamela_S1
Level 3

Hi everyone.

I have a master-media server with netbackup 7.5.0.6 and a client on the same version. Both are windows 2008 r2, but the client is a storage server.

The client has a W:\ drive that presents a LUN from a NetAPP. On this W drive, we have a folder called "usuarios" with about 660 Gb and 1272856 files (full backup on weekends), and has Single Instance Storage enable, so in the backup we get all the "SIS Common Store" folder even if not included on the policy backup selections. The backup selections of the policy is:

W:\Usuarios

Couple of times the client became unavailable during backup, and after a memory dump and analysis, the diagnostic they have given me is:

Symantec Net Backup process bpbkar32.exe has the oldest waiting thread blocked on this file:

\Usuarios\username\nameofthefile.doc

sisss.sys is involved in the blockage but seems was only passing the request to NTFS. So this driver might not be responsible

I have looked for some similar issues, haven´t found any, neither on the documentation. Anybody having similar issues or knows if this is really netbackup related (i´m guessing it is more a problem of the sisss.sys causing an error), but not so sure how to start analyzing this.

Thanks a lot,

Pamela.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Yasuhisa_Ishika
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

I have no experience with SIS so I'm not sure it is really true, but I think it is nature of SIS. Contents of SIS volume is backed in SIS Common store, so even if you don't explicitly include SIS Common Store, backup is redirected to SIS Vommon Store, and it will backed up.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa362664(v=vs.85).aspx