cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tape contains NetBackup Database data and cannot be used for backups.

Annalise_Famigl
Level 2
Hi,

I'm a newbie to this product and am having some problems with re-using tapes. The tapes I'm struggling with are the ones that were original used for the catalog backups.

I've since moved the catalog backups to different tapes but I'm unable to figure out how to make the orignal tapes available for regular backups.

I've tried bpexpdate with no success. When I try to erase the tape it gets frozen because it has the database data on it.

Any ideas?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Stumpr2
Level 6

first, please do not attach questions or remarks on old threads. It is better to open a new post and place a link to the threads that you are referencing.

It sounds like the internal label inside the cartridge written on the physical tape still exists. relabel the internal tape via the bplabel command or through the GUI. If you have already done that then do it again and look for any errors.It has to successfully pass the labeling process before the tape can be re-used.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Stumpr2
Level 6
You need to deassign and relabel them.
Here's a 3 step technote.

How to reuse or recycle unnecessary NetBackup database catalog tapes for normal backups with NetBackup 4.5 or later
http://seer.support.veritas.com/docs/273044.htm

Details:
In order to reuse tapes that were previously used for VERITAS NetBackup (tm) database catalog backups, perform the following two steps:

Caution: Once these steps have been performed, the original data on the tape is destroyed and lost - make certain beforehand that verification has been done on all the tapes on which this operation is to be performed, and that they are indeed tapes that can be overwritten.

Perform the following commands on the volume database host (usually the NetBackup master server):