cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tape recovery

Josh_CG
Level 3

I am new to Netbackup system. We have a new requirement to review and assess all contents and restore options of over a 1000 tapes that are stored at a remote location for a few years now. All I got is the tapes and the barcodes on it. The backup servers (mgmt, media etc) are all decommissioned a while ago. We got an old tape library at another location where I am planning to explore the recoverability of these tapes. We also have the Netbackup server 7.6.0.1 installed on a Linux platform at this location + Netbackup Java version on a Windows server as well.

I would like to know if we have any chance to restore any data from these tapes using the above servers and the tape library. Any help will be appreciated. 

Thanks

20 REPLIES 20

quebek
   VIP    Certified

Hello

That will be painful process as you do not have NBU catalog - which was aware what was written where (which tape). Now all you can do is to try to perform import of these tapes, but I am not foreseeing a lot of luck for this... but it is doable if you are really pertinacious

You need to perform phase 1 of import (which retention is like 1 week - check this out https://vox.veritas.com/t5/NetBackup/import-phase-one-information-retention/td-p/293316 ) and once all tapes are found from the same backup image (so called fragments) you can only then do phase 2 of import....

Links to import docs:

https://www.veritas.com/content/support/en_US/doc/18716246-129889741-0/v41087825-129889741

https://www.veritas.com/content/support/en_US/doc/18716246-129889741-0/v41087956-129889741

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

In addition to above excellent post, you need to check that you have tape drives that can read those tapes.

LTO2 for example can be read on LTO2, LTO3 and LTO4 tape drives.
LTO3 tapes can be read on LTO3, LTO4 and LTO5 tape drives.
So, same and 2 generations later.