Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VMware & SharePoint Hybrid Backups

Di_Ro
Level 4
Partner Accredited

Hello everybody,

I'm studying about VMware & SharePoint into VRay Technology, I'm reading in the manual that we cannot backup when:

Virtual Machine Disk (vmdk) volumes that are marked as independent. Make
sure that the SharePoint databases are not stored on independent disks.

My SharePoint server is a virtual machine, but my SharePoint databases server is a phisycal machine, is it possible to back it up with the VMware Policy? or should I configure backups by other way?

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

From what i understand application protection within VMWare machines is pretty much for standalone application servers - so to properly protect one it would need the Sharepoint Farm and SQL to both reside on the same machine to protect it all

Having said that it will generally backup everything that it has access to which means you would also need a standard SQL Policy that backups up the SQL databases - but what you dont get is the exact timings (backing up the farm and SQL at the same time to give a consistent recovery state)

So a quick summary...

It will back up your Apps - but only what it can see on the single VMware machine it is backing up at the time - it cannot go elsewhere to find parts

So if your SQL Server was also on VMware then its parts of Sharepoint (the databases) would also get backed up when that machine was backed up

It is similar for exchange where you would only get active databases on the exchange server being backed up protected and it would not go off and look for other exchange members

Hope this makes sense and helps

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

SymTerry
Level 6
Employee Accredited