cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vault Duplication of Images on Dedupe Pool

kenrblan
Level 3

My environment is Netbackup 7.0.1 on Windows 2008 R2. I have a master server plus three media servers. Two of those media servers have Deduplication Disk Pools on them. One of those is in our production site and is where backups are initially done. I have a vault job that performs an optimized duplication of specific servers' backups to the other media server located in our DR facility.That part of the setup is working.

My problem is that I also need to duplicate images to LTO-4 tape since we don't have the bandwidth required to replicate the entire Dedupe pool to DR. It appears that the Vault duplication to tape is trying to read production site deduped images with the DR site media server. That is, of course, slowing down my tape duplication jobs. It doesn't make sense that Netbackup would try to read the image from the other media server when the source image resides on the same server that is writing the tape.

I am including information from the details tab on one of the Duplication jobs:

3/1/2011 3:22:22 PM - begin Duplicate
3/1/2011 3:22:23 PM - requesting resource bxsops078-nb002-hcart-robot-tld-1
3/1/2011 3:22:23 PM - requesting resource @aaaa3
3/1/2011 3:22:23 PM - reserving resource @aaaa3
3/1/2011 3:22:24 PM - reserved resource @aaaa3
3/1/2011 3:22:24 PM - granted resource L40011
3/1/2011 3:22:24 PM - granted resource IBM.ULTRIUM-TD4.hcart.003
3/1/2011 3:22:24 PM - granted resource bxsops078-nb002-hcart-robot-tld-1
3/1/2011 3:22:24 PM - granted resource MediaID=@aaaa3;DiskVolume=PureDiskVolume;DiskPool=BXS-DedupePool-1;Path=PureDiskVolume;StorageServer=bxsops078-nb002;MediaServer=bxsdrc078-nb002
3/1/2011 3:22:27 PM - started process bptm (5956)
3/1/2011 3:22:33 PM - started process bpdm (6580)
3/1/2011 3:22:34 PM - started process bptm (5956)
3/1/2011 3:22:34 PM - mounting L40011
3/1/2011 3:22:34 PM - started process bptm (7952)