cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the difference between ascii and binary catalog?

divjot
Level 2

hi i am new to netbackup..can any one tell me what is the difference between ascii catalog and binary catalog?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

sclind
   VIP   

Sounds like a exam or interview question.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

My question to you:

Where did you here about this and why is this important to you?

ASCII catalog for NBU images was used many years and many versions ago. No need to even wonder about it....

Parts of NBU Catalog (and everything you need to know about the catalog for your NBU version)  is covered in NetBackup Administrator's Guide, Volume I  .

You can also read through this 'blueprint' article: 
https://www.veritas.com/community/articles/netbackup-76-blueprints-netbackup-catalog 

sdo
Partner    VIP    Certified

The difference is that the ".f" files within the image catalog are potentially human readable when in ACSII format.

When the ".f" files are in binary format, then seeing (let alone interpreting) the contents is not humanly possible.

But, as BAU day-to-day administrators, there should be absolutlely no need to look inside those files anyway.

Maybe this will help a bit:

https://www.veritas.com/community/articles/netbackup-76-blueprints-netbackup-catalog

ASCII based catalogs are an old concept, a very old concept.

Do you have some really old v4.5 or v5.x environments to look after?

RiaanBadenhorst

Whoooa that took me back a long long time :)

Marianne

I had to go search Google to see when NBU changed from ASCII to binary catalogs.

It was in NBU 4.5 that was released back in 2002!!!! 

I bet that 99% of current NBU admins have never seen or used NBU 3.x and earlier with ASCII catalogs....

nbutech
Level 6
Accredited Certified

Hello,