cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why Won't Tapes that are Partially Full Be Used?

7Tech
Level 2

Hello--

I am relatively new to Netbackup as I've only used BEWS in the past. I'm being taught by one of the other techs where I work. He indicated that about once a month I need to eject the partially written to tapes because NetBackup will not use them for new backups and jobs will fail if there are not enough tapes in the robot that don't have no time assigned to them.

This is not only causing us more time to administer the changing out of the tapes, but it is costing us money because we don't have as many tapes in rotation and we have to keep buying new ones because the partials are being stored offsite with those tapes that are written to capacity.

I had conflicting information from my boss who said that is not a design flaw in Netbackup but a configuration inefficiency and to ask Symantec about it -- which is what I'm trying to do here.

We are using Netbackup for Windows version 7.1 with LTO4 and 5 drives and tapes.

Thanks for any input on this question.

8 REPLIES 8

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

My experience has been exactly the opposite - NBU will first use already written tapes that are assigned to the requesting media server, is in the required pool and the same retention period, not Full, Frozen, Suspended, etc.  Only then will it take from scratch.

Please see http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO32854

The problem with partially full tapes is that you don't know exactly how much space is left on them. If you don't have enough slots in the robot for the partially full media as well as spare scratch tapes, you could end up with status 96.

ram619
Level 5
Certified

In our enviroment we are using LTO3 tapes where the full media size varies from 390GB to 890GB. Am not able to find the reason. Is it because of compression technology.

RiaanBadenhorst