cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows 2008 R2 Backup and Recovery

DPeaco
   VIP   

Greetings,

Master server - Netbackup 5230 appliance - 7.6.1.1 and all applicable patches for the appliance.

Windows 2008 R2 client - 7.6.1.1 client version

We've had many issues with trying to backup and recovery a Windows server. We can't do BMR because we'd have to have MANY BMR servers just to recover the various Windows boxes we support. My team supports over 1,200 Windows backup clients, 1,100 Linux clients, and over 600 Unix clients. We backup about 3.4 PB per month. Now that this is all out of the way.....back to the issue I'd like to find an answer for.

I've been told that Netbackup can both backup and recover a Windows server in 7.6x just by using the normal Windows backup policy, which is supposed to backup the system state and such. I'm not a Windows engineer so I'm having to work with our Windows team to try and find a true Netbackup solution to this.

Historically, the windows team would run a windows backup of the system state and have that on a data drive attached to the windows server. We'd run a backup of that server (all local drives), to include the system state. They would format the server, lay down a the same O/S and patches, install the exact same Netbackup client software and we'd run the restore as found in the old 2003 recovery doc. Restore of the server, it's applications, and the system state back to how it was before the rebuild has NEVER been successful.

I've been tasked with finding out how to backup a windows box and be able to restore it without having 500 different BMR servers sitting on the data center floors. 

Please advise.

Thanks,

Dennis Peacock

Thanks,
Dennis
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

sdo
Partner    VIP    Certified

Someone else had a failed Windows system restore using the overlay method: