cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows 2012 R2 - NUMBER_DATA_BUFFERS not being used

Kelly_Stevenson
Level 4

NB 7.7.1

I have a RedHat master - with lto6 tape drives and a few Windows 2012 R2 media servers.

The NUMBER_DATA_BUFFERS and SIZE_DATA_BUFFERS - are set on the Red Hat master - /usr/openv/netbackup/db/config - and work great.

However - when we set the same values on the Windows 2012 R2 media servers - it will not use the values we specify - using same values as the RedHat master.

It keeps using the default 65536 and 12 values.

They are located in C:\program files\veritas\netbackup\db\config

NUMBER_DATA_BUFFERS

SIZE_DATA_BUFFERS

Did something change in NB 7.7.1 to adjust buffers in Windows media servers? The tuning guide still hasn't been updated for 7.7.

Regards

Kelly

7 REPLIES 7

sdo
Partner    VIP    Certified

Are you sure that the files do not have a ".txt" file name extension?

What does a DOS/cmd/CLI     dir <path>       command show?

Nicolai
Partner    VIP   

Agree with SDO - check file extension. Windows Explorer per default hide known extension. Go into Folder Option -> View and uncheck "Hide extension for known file types".

The two file must be named excatly NUMER_DATA_BUFFERS and SIZE_DATA_BUFFERS.

The bullet proof way to do it :

• go to C:\program files\veritas\netbackup\db\config
  • open a command promt
  • type the follow commands
  • echo 262144 >  SIZE_DATA_BUFFERS
  • echo 512 > NUMBER_DATA_BUFFERS

Done - you now have to files without extension

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

If your media servers are reusing tapes which have previosuly been used and so already have the default 64k block size then they do not get changed.

To get the servers to use the new block size you will need to relabel the tapes before they are reused (making sire they have no vaildi data on them of course!)