cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows 64 bit client backups

Colin_North
Level 6
I have a master server with 6.0 MP4 and Windows 2003 Server 32 bit and all my clients are 32 bit, except one which is 64 bit - both 64 bit hardware and 64 bit Windows 2003 Server.

I know that I need the NBU 64 bit client software and that I need to install the software locally rather than remote. Does anyone know if I need a NBU 64 bit client license to backup this client (does such a thing exist)? Or will a standard NBU license cover this?

The 6.0 installation & admin manuals are lacking with info on 64 bit installs.

Thanks in advance...Colin.

6 REPLIES 6

AntonioVargas
Level 4
Hi Colin,

as far as i know the only thing you need is a windows Netbackup client licence. Until you upgrade to 6.5 version the licenses must be issue by operating system, but not by x64 or x86.. in netbackup 6.5 client licences dont specify operating system and can be used for all the avaiable.

best regards

Colin_North
Level 6

António,
Thanks for your reply.

At the moment I am unable to locate the NBU 6.0 MP4 client software for Windows 2003 server x64. It's no longer available from fileconnect.symantec.com, as 6.5.2. is the only version available.

Does anyone know where I can get version 6.0 software from?

Thanks, Colin.

AntonioVargas
Level 4
you may find what you need at:

:)

Colin_North
Level 6

I am still having a real problem in obtaining the 64 bit software that I need for Netbackup 6.0. The rest of my environment is on NBU 6.0 MP4 (32 bit) but I currently have one server that's 64 bit and will be taking on more of them soon.