cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bpclntcmd.exe- High CPU utilisation

neetu
Level 3

Hi all,

I have a master, media and all clients running on NetBackup 7.1.0.4.

Master and media servers OS: Windows 2008 R2

Client OS: Windows 2003(64 bit)- Virtual server

I have issue with one particular SQL server which we backup using the NetBackup SQL agent. I sometimes get to see large number of bpclntcmd.exe processes running on the server (above 15 threads) and these all add up to 100% of the CPU causing performance issues on a production server and hence rendering it unaccessible.

This issue has repeated around 6 times within a span of 1 year now and I am beng approached for the cause of the issue. Logging a call did not help much as I get only one reply saying "Upgrade NetBackup to latest version" which is definitely not the answer I am looking for. I will upgrade, but what is the cause? Why is it only one or two particular clients that face this issue whereas we have others with similar configurations(OS, network, SQL etc) running successfully without any issue?

I do not have much logs handy as I have least logging enabled on the clients. Resolved issue by killing the processes manually. Also, observed a process called "progress.exe" when listing backup processes using bpps. What is this process?

Has anyone come across this and has got a fix apart from the "upgrade"??

10 REPLIES 10

neetu
Level 3

To add to it, no backups were active during the time of the incident.

Andy_Welburn
Level 6

This maybe?

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH214830

- there are potential workaround, but the T/N seems to indicate that the solution will be upgrade - i.e. fixed in 7.6.0.3

*EDIT* saw your additional post so maybe not

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

progress.exe is interesting as this is the Job Activity monitor used from the BAR GUI to see how restore jobs are going.