cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bperror column descriptions

rocketnewton
Level 2

Hi ,

I'm new to using Netbackup and I'm dumbfounded about the column names produced by bperror. I don't want to use the more userfriendly versions because I need to run this through some scripts.

Example command:

bperror.exe -hoursago 1 -s ERROR -M some_server

Example output:

1300291230 1 2 16 netbackup5 477381 477381 0 nbu-c1 bpbrm bpcd on nbu-c1 exited with status 48: client hostname could not be found

1300291230 1 4 16 NETBACKUP6 477381 477381 0 nbu-c1 nbpem backup of client nbu-c1 exited with status 48 (client hostname could not be found)

Some of the columns are obvious (master/media server name, client name, error message) but any column with just a number I can't figure out. Any help would be appreciated!

EDIT: Btw, yes I have looked at the docs, both man page for bperror and the "netbackup commands" doc. They both describe the program but do not say anything about the columns in this format.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

tomwatts
Level 3

From the Netbackup Commands document, under bperror. It seems like the default format uses the -l format, so...

■ Error catalog display, individual message entries, short format (for example, bperror -media -l). The short format produces a single line per log entry, with the following contents:

Time (internal system representation)
NetBackup version
Type code (decimal)
Severity code (decimal)
Server
Job ID
Job Group ID
An unused field
Client
Who
Text (the entire log message text, with no truncation of the line length)

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Will_Restore
Level 6

first field is epoch time

1300291230 = 3/16/2011 18:18:43

http://www.epochconverter.com/

field 4 is Severity 

16 = Error

4 = Information

fields 6 + 7 are the Job ID

tomwatts
Level 3

From the Netbackup Commands document, under bperror. It seems like the default format uses the -l format, so...