cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cat_import to different master server

zmlat
Level 4

Hello,

I am experimenting with cat_import/export to copy client images from one master to a different master.
Here's the situation...
I have an old, legacy NB master that I need to retire. Its an old EOSL appliance, running 8.1.2 (for restores only). The hostname is in a domain that is soon to be retired as well. Since I can't simply do a recovery to a VM with same hostname (due to different domains), I thought I'd be able to export client images from old, and import to new master. All the backups will be tape backups. I'd just need the catalog as a reference to identify the tape to import (to another master) in the event we need to do a restore.

The interesting thing is the import looks like it worked. When I go to BAR gui, it does list the available backup images, but when I select an image to restore from, I get "There are no files matching the specified criteria".

The hope is to do a "preview", get the tape ID, and do a proper tape import on another master with tape drives.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

davidmoline
Level 6
Employee

Hi @zmlat 

There may be two issues to resolve this. One is simple, the other not so. 

1. Was transfering the FLIST files part of the process (/usr/openv/netbackup/db/images/<client>/....). These contain the granular file information for the backup. The cat_import process only imports the basic metadata into the database. This is simple to fix - you need to copy the relevant files to the new primary (make sure ownership/permissions are set correectly on the target system).