cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

missing path issue in drives

Mehul_Pal
Level 5

Hi

 

I am facing missing path issue with my netbackup server

drives are shared with media & master

 

robot control host is master server

 

enclosed the images of the missing path

i did cat /proc/scsi/scsi to check the drives are showing visible at os end

 

they are showing there in media & master server

 

Master server
Host: scsi16 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
Vendor: IBM Model: ULT3580-TD4 Rev: C7QH
Type: Sequential-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 03
Host: scsi16 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 01
Vendor: IBM Model: 03584L32 Rev: C260
Type: Medium Changer ANSI SCSI revision: 03
Host: scsi16 Channel: 00 Id: 01 Lun: 00
Vendor: IBM Model: ULT3580-TD5 Rev: B6W0
Type: Sequential-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 06
Host: scsi16 Channel: 00 Id: 02 Lun: 00
Vendor: IBM Model: ULT3580-TD5 Rev: D2A0
Type: Sequential-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 06
Host: scsi16 Channel: 00 Id: 03 Lun: 00
Vendor: IBM Model: ULT3580-TD4 Rev: C7QH
Type: Sequential-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 03



Media server
Host: scsi7 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
Vendor: IBM Model: ULT3580-TD5 Rev: D2A0
Type: Sequential-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 06
Host: scsi8 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
Vendor: IBM Model: ULT3580-TD5 Rev: B6W0
Type: Sequential-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 06
Host: scsi9 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
Vendor: IBM Model: ULT3580-TD4 Rev: C7QH
Type: Sequential-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 03
Host: scsi9 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 01
Vendor: IBM Model: 03584L32 Rev: C260
Type: Medium Changer ANSI SCSI revision: 03
Host: scsi9 Channel: 00 Id: 01 Lun: 00
Vendor: IBM Model: ULT3580-TD4 Rev: C7QH
Type: Sequential-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 03

 

when i do tpautoconf -t

i can see below output which seems there is some issue hence wanted to understand what i m missing here

Media serve output

 

/tpautoconf -t
TPAC60 IBM ULT3580-TD4 C7QH 0007882263 -1 -1 -1 -1 /dev/nst3 - -
TPAC60 IBM ULT3580-TD5 B6W0 00078A334C -1 -1 -1 -1 /dev/nst1 - -
TPAC60 IBM ULT3580-TD5 D2A0 00078A334B -1 -1 -1 -1 /dev/nst0 - -
TPAC60 IBM ULT3580-TD4 C7QH 0007882210 -1 -1 -1 -1 /dev/nst2 - -

 

master server output

 

/tpautoconf -t
TPAC60 IBM ULT3580-TD4 C7QH 0007882263 -1 -1 -1 -1 /dev/nst3 - -
TPAC60 IBM ULT3580-TD4 C7QH 0007882210 -1 -1 -1 -1 /dev/nst0 - -

21 REPLIES 21

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited

Reboot the master - see if that sorts it out.

It might be that after the reboot the x2 drives on the master disappear from /proc/scsi/scsi.

It seems on the maser, that the two droves are not responding to the scsi commands sent when you run tpconfig -t. You will see the same issue (missing drives) if you run scan.

Nothing can be done in NetBackup, as this is not a NetBackup issue.

Make sure there is no tapes in the drives when rebooting/scanning for hardware.

The standard questions: Have you checked: 1) What has changed. 2) The manual 3) If there are any tech notes or VOX posts regarding the issue

Hi 

 

when i am doing scan i can see 2 drives only which are LTo4 

sdo
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Certified

Martin has already said:

"It seems on the master, that the two drives are not responding to the scsi commands sent when you run tpconfig -t. You will see the same issue (missing drives) if you run scan."

so only reboot will work on this case ?

sdo
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Certified

Well, a reboot might resolve it, then again it might not, there could be several individual steps to resolve it, or several combined steps to resolve it, and/or either the reboot or any one of the several of the steps that I will outline now may in fact make the situation worse.

We've nothing to go on except what you have posted.  So, it's almost a case of pot luck.

Personally, I would do as Martin has suggested / implied, which is try to find out why the SCSI devices (the tape drives) are no longer responding to SCSI commands from NetBackup.  But, as Martin has suggested, the very fact that they are listed by the OS could be a stale "cache" of devices.  So, maybe you need a Linux admin to help you debug the OS interface between the SCSI layer and the device driver layer.

1) Try enable persistent binding on the HBA driver layer.

2) Try an HBA reset.

3) Try a SCSI bus reset from the OS, followed by a SCSI bus re-scan.

4) Try a full server reboot.

sdo
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Certified

5) What is the master OS and NBU version?

6) What is the media server OS and NBU version?

7) You have definitely checked the presentation from the tape libraries?

8) Are the tape drives FC or SAS connected?

9) What does this command show "lsscsi" ? (I'm assuming your servers are RHEL).

Master server OS Version - 2.6.18-164.el5 #1 SMP Tue Aug 18 15:51:48 EDT 2009 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

HBA Information

lspci | grep -i "Fibre"
03:00.0 Fibre Channel: QLogic Corp. ISP2432-based 4Gb Fibre Channel to PCI Expre ss HBA (rev 03)
03:00.1 Fibre Channel: QLogic Corp. ISP2432-based 4Gb Fibre Channel to PCI Expre ss HBA (rev 03)
83:00.0 Fibre Channel: Emulex Corporation Zephyr-X LightPulse Fibre Channel Host Adapter (rev 02)
83:00.1 Fibre Channel: Emulex Corporation Zephyr-X LightPulse Fibre Channel Host Adapter (rev 02)

Media server oS version - 2.6.18-274.el5 #1 SMP Fri Jul 8 17:36:59 EDT 2011 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

HBA info

lspci | grep -i "Fibre"
21:00.0 Fibre Channel: Emulex Corporation Saturn-X: LightPulse Fibre Channel Hos t Adapter (rev 03)
29:00.0 Fibre Channel: Emulex Corporation Saturn-X: LightPulse Fibre Channel Hos t Adapter (rev 03)
2f:00.0 Fibre Channel: Emulex Corporation Saturn-X: LightPulse Fibre Channel Hos t Adapter (rev 03)

sdo
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Certified

Ok.  lsscsi too ?

unable to run that command says

 

lsscsi
-bash: lsscsi: command not found

sdo
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Certified

10) What do these commands show on both:  

# cat /etc/redhat-release
# cat /usr/openv/netbackup/version
# /usr/openv/volmgr/bin/tpext -get_dev_mappings_ver

sdo
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Certified

11) Maybe you could install "lsscsi" as it seems to be a standalone utility with no dependencies, assuming that you don't have to go through change control:

 

# yum whatprovides lsscsi
...
lsscsi-0.23-3.el6.x86_64 : List SCSI devices (or hosts) and associated information
Repo        : installed
Matched from:
Other       : Provides-match: lsscsi
#

 

.

# yum deplist lsscsi
...
Finding dependencies:
#

 

/usr/openv/volmgr/bin/tpext -get_dev_mappings_ver device mappings version in the EMM database is 1.120 device mappings version from the local file is 1.120 Local device mappings file is up-to-date

 

 

/usr/openv/netbackup/version
HARDWARE LINUX_RH_X86
VERSION NetBackup 7.6.0.4
RELEASEDATE Fri Oct 24 23:07:58 CDT 2014
BUILDNUMBER 20141024

 

 

/etc/redhat-release
Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 5.4 (Tikanga)

 

i am not allowed to install any softwre on it

sdo
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Certified

Do you have any HBA management tools installed on the master server, and on the media servers?

Can you not query the HBAs and get them to list what they can see at the FC/SAN layer?

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited

I was going to suggest this:

EIther HBAnywhere or SanSurfer depending on the HBA brand.

no tool installed like that

Marianne
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

@Mehul_Pal this issue seems to be totally unimportant to you as it took you exactly a month to tell us that you have not tried to find out what HBA is in your server or that you have looked on the HBA vendor's website for the HBA management tool :
QLogic : SanSurfer
Emulex : HBAnyware

What have you done to verify that the OS can see and access all tape drives? 

Please help us to help you. 

 

Marianne
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

I found this post from November/December 2016 where you also failed to reply to attempts to assist:

https://vox.veritas.com/t5/NetBackup/Tape-drive-missing-issue/m-p/821916

Please help us to help you? 

Hello Mariane,

 

i am sorry unable to reply to your message actually was busy with that issue i reconfigured it again this time it worked.