cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

newly added media server not showing up in master server console

kiyan
Level 4

I have a Windows master server(10.0.0.1) and created a media server on linux (centos 8).while adding the media server I followed steps from Veritas guide and posts available here.
my issue is that the name of the newly created media server is not showing in console , under media servers.but if I do "configure Media Server" under actions, the new media server properties is showing fine.
I have confirmed below points:
-the name of linux media server is available in master servers properties (shortname and FQDN) both under additinal servers and media servers)
-name of the linux media server is availble in registry in the registry key Server
-lin linux media server, the bp.conf seems fine.
I have faced below issues:
1-from linux server, running "nbemmcmd -getemmserver" gives me "a web login is required,.Run the 'bpnbat -login -loginType command to login"
2-from master server, running nbemmcmd -listhosts (and with -verbos) it only representing the master server name.
3-trying to add the linux media server in master server via nbemmcmd , gives an error that the hostname already exist.

I would appreciate if anyone can help me out on this issue.

12 REPLIES 12

sanket_pathak1
Level 4

@kiyan it is mostly because.. host name resolution or NetBackup certificates are not deployed correctly.

Run following commands 

Master Server

bptestbpcd -host <media server>

Media Server

bptestbpcd -host <master server>

nbcertcmd -checkclockskew

nbcertcmd -hostselfcheck

nbcertcmd -ping

These commands are just to validate the media server status. it will not make any changes.

@sanket_pathak1 thank you for your reply.
As I have mentioned in my first post, I have already done that (both FQDN & shortname) .

@kiyan yes.. i realized it, hence edited my original post. :) 

@sanket_pathak1 Thanks for your continded support.