cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

quick question on DFSR failed file/s

manatee
Level 6

NBU 7.6.0.3

for DFSR backups of a drive, there are file/s being skipped due to access denied (file still open at user side). my question is, what happens to the other files that are not open or being used? will they have a backup inspite of the open file error caused by other opened files? or the whole DFSR backup is useless just coz a few files have open file error?

10 REPLIES 10

Will_Restore
Level 6

Files that are not active should be backed up just fine.  Try test restore to verify. 

Lowell_Palecek
Level 6
Employee

Messing with DFSR is like doing brain surgery on your file system replication. I would not restore DFSR from an incomplete backup even if NetBackup lets you try.

Disclaimer: I am not a DFSR expert. If no one gives you a more complete answer to your question than mine in a couple of days, I'll investigate further.

You could start by telling us which files are skipped and sharing a bit of the bpbkar log.

Marianne2
Level 4
Use BAR to browse. If you can see files/folders, you can restore.

sdo
Partner    VIP    Certified
Not had a problem with restores of DFSR data. But a skipped locked file will not invalidate the rest of the backup. If it's status 0 or 1 then any non skipped:locked files should be restorable.
But heed the warning re DFSR being finicky... a mass restore will cause DFSR to get real busy.
FYI a NetBackup restore of data from a DFSR based backup does not restore DFSR meta/data, it only restores the files - so, restoring a few files you won't notice the impact on DFSR , but restore 15M files... files... well ... test it, and you'll wish your users had put so many files in there.