cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

system state backups

Tim_Wilkinson
Level 4
Hi,

I'm pretty new to Netbackup so please have a bit of patience (initially, anyway) :)

I've got a few questions about System_State backups:
- Does system_state include DHCP and DNS information? For Active Directory environment, the DNS will probably be integrated into AD but I'm not sure about DHCP. On our other network, we don't use AD so we'll need to backup DNS and DHCP manually; how's this done best?
- The Windows2003 directive category doesn't have a system_state directive, but Windows 2000 category does; does it matter which directive category you pick it from for specific OS?
- I did a system_state backup of a Windows Server 2003 computer but when looking at the backed up information through Backup/Archive/Restore GUI, AD is reporting the file as being size 0; surely this can't be right?

Cheers,

Timbo
9 REPLIES 9

Derek_Black_2
Level 3
Hi Timbo!
FYI,
If you're using 2003, the Volume Shadow Copy replaces the Win2000 system_state directive in 5.1. Don't know which version you're running. The items backed up in this include:

System State writers, which can include:
System Files
COM+ Class Registration Database
SYSVOL
Active Directory
Cluster Quorum
Certificate Services
Registry
Internet Information Services

System Service writers, which can include:
Removable Storage Manager
Event Logs
Windows Internet Name Service
Windows Management Instrumentation
Remote Storage
Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol
Terminal Server Licensing
Background Intelligent Transfer Service
User Data writers, which includes items that are not required by the machine to operate. For example, Active Directory Application Mode.

Hope this helps.

Stefan_Schmid_2
Level 4
http://seer.support.veritas.com/docs/273382.htm

Tim_Wilkinson
Level 4
Derek,

Thanks for your response; it answers alot of what I need to know.