Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

to change damaged tape in tape-libraray

venu_netbackup0
Level 4

i am new to this domain....how to change the damaged tape in tape-lib

i think answer is vmchange -pn<pool-number> -m<media-id>

is this answer correct or not....

iif not please assists me ...on console what the procedure will be.to change tape on tape-lib

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

RiaanBadenhorst
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Hello,

If the media is bad (not usable) you can take it out of the library. There is no need to change it.

From NetBackup you can select the media and choose eject. Then go to the library and remove it from the import/outport slot.

Next you should expire the images on that media so NetBackup understand that the backup images are no longer available.

You can do that by running

bpexpdate -m MEDIAID -d 0

View solution in original post

Will_Restore
Level 6

Right, after expiring the irrecoverable images, we also do the vmchange -p ..., so if somebody says "Hey, what happened to tape 123456? We can check and reply, 'it's in the BAD_TAPE pool'

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

RiaanBadenhorst

Hello,

If the media is bad (not usable) you can take it out of the library. There is no need to change it.

From NetBackup you can select the media and choose eject. Then go to the library and remove it from the import/outport slot.

Next you should expire the images on that media so NetBackup understand that the backup images are no longer available.

You can do that by running

bpexpdate -m MEDIAID -d 0

Will_Restore
Level 6

Right, after expiring the irrecoverable images, we also do the vmchange -p ..., so if somebody says "Hey, what happened to tape 123456? We can check and reply, 'it's in the BAD_TAPE pool'

RiaanBadenhorst

Nice tip Will. You clearly have more DataCenter experience :)

One would need to make sure someone doesn't put the bad tape back and it starts all over.

Genericus
   VIP