cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

tpautoconf Failed opening the device mappings file

Level 4

Hi, 

I am new to Netbackup Environment. Please help & sorted out the Issue.

Netbackup is on cluster environment. In the seconday node when I am checking with tpconfig -d & tpconfig -l. Gertting no output.

netback1# tpautoconf
Failed opening the device mappings file

Please suggest.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

davidmoline
Level 6
Employee

Hi @114 

This is not unexpected. In clustered mode NetBackup operates as active and standby. There are various directories that are configured to follow the active node. The catalog is the primary one, but also included is the var/global directory which among other things contains the device_mapping.txt file. 

It is more usual and better practice to run (most of) the commands from the active node as the standby node will be missing important items.

Cheers
David

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

davidmoline
Level 6
Employee

Hi @114 

This is not unexpected. In clustered mode NetBackup operates as active and standby. There are various directories that are configured to follow the active node. The catalog is the primary one, but also included is the var/global directory which among other things contains the device_mapping.txt file. 

It is more usual and better practice to run (most of) the commands from the active node as the standby node will be missing important items.

Cheers
David

Hi David,

A planned switch over activity in recent time.

Should we  need to logged the case with Veritas OEM or with IBM? What should be the POA... can you suggest.

davidmoline
Level 6
Employee

HI @114