cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

unfreezing media

gaberjr
Level 2

I'm totally new to Netbackup zero experience just got it passed down to me anyway. I have a bunch of backups failing. The robot is scheduled to eject out tapes every week. I've noticed that backups that fail succeed or does a partial backup after we do a tape exchange. I'm just curious why netbackup doest not spit out all the bad tapes that need to be replaced.There are only a few active tapes in the robot, the rest are Full or Frozen. I understand that there are several reasons netbackup freezes the media. How do I pick which ones to unfreeze and what do I do with tapes that are marked full? Some of the tapes were last written way back in 2015 do I eject those? Thanks.

4 REPLIES 4

Nicolai
Partner    VIP   

Netbackup deos not automatical eject frozen or suspended tapes. It is somthing you as NBU admin has to do.

To unfreeze a media run :

bpmedia  -unfreeze -m LABEL_NAME

There are senarios where NBU will freeze a lot of media in one go - eg. if you are trying to re-use media without writing a new magnetic label. Inspec how many times a media has been mounted, if it is very low you can unfreeze media - If it high bin the tape. Do not unfreeze all media - release no more than a handfull a day and monitor the number of status code 84 (media write error). 

Tape drives in a bad shape may also lead to a high volume of frozen tapes. 

On each media server a file called errors is located in /usr/openv/netbackup/db/media. Inspect that file to see any tape drives or times where tape was frozen in high volume

This example is a snippet of the error file. From the example we can see 5 errors. Since tape drived had erros on at least two taps, it safe to assume tape drive is faulty.

03/30/13 04:56:24 701149 4 POSITION_ERROR 0018-B-2F
03/30/13 05:01:09 701149 4 POSITION_ERROR 0018-B-2F
03/30/13 06:49:19 701149 4 POSITION_ERROR 0018-B-2F