cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

upgrading to 7.7 (from 7.6)

gkman
Level 5

Hello,

I was tasked with upgrading our NetBackup environment to 7.7.2. this is my first time ever upgrading NetBackup so my wish is to consult here on the forum and make sure I understood and know everything I should before I start.

Our environment consists of:
master server version 7.6.0.4 installed on windows server 2008R2 (VM).
media server - NetBackup appliance version 5230 2.6.0.4
Plugin server for vCenter (VM) - which I don't know much about or how relevant it is for the upgrade - either way it is not working properly.
opsCenter Version 7.6.0.2 installed on win Server 2008R2 (VM)

I was reading https://www.veritas.com/support/en_US/article.000040130 and https://www.veritas.com/support/en_US/article.000100611. and this is how I planed my upgrade so far:

• I should upgrade by order: opscenter, master, media and lastly the clients. 
  • follow this guide before upgrading opscenter: http://www.veritas.com/docs/TECH211070
  • before upgrading the it is recommended to follow this tech note to reduce upgrade time: https://www.veritas.com/support/en_US/article.TECH211811 
  • catalog migration is unnecessary because I am upgrading from 7.6
  • before upgrading master server- stop opscenter data collecting 
  • running the setup on the master server is pretty straight forward just move forward accept the defaults and provide the information needed.
  • upgrading the media appliance- move the installation packages to \\appliance\incoming_patches, close share and install after killing the services.
  • upgrade the clients

Here are the files I downloaded  for the upgrade:

NetBackup_7.7.2_AIX64.tar.gz
NetBackup_7.7.2_CLIENTS1.tar.gz
NetBackup_7.7.2_CLIENTS2.tar.gz
NetBackup_7.7.2_Download_README-Info.txt
NetBackup_7.7.2_HPIA.tar.gz
NetBackup_7.7.2_LinuxR_x86_64.tar.gz
NetBackup_7.7.2_LinuxS_x86_64.tar.gz
NetBackup_7.7.2_LU_1of2.tar.gz