Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Initializing disk on Windows

krrish
Level 3
hai,

i just started learning VXVM.

As suggested by one of our friends on this forum, Lee, i have installed SF for Windows 5.1 on by windows 2008 virtual machine.

i have provisioned couple of iSCSI luns from my NetApp Filer.

everything went fine as far as disk discovery on the server.

my problem is when i run the #vxdisk list command, it shows that the disks are not initialized. i think i cant go forward with out doing that.

but the good side is, i can able to see the disks in the VEA GUI and i am able to initialize the disks, create disk groups, volumes and so on...

i am curious to know how to initialize the disks using command line.......coz after that i can use other good commands to create the disk groups, volume and so on....
is there any difference between how VERITAS sees SCSI disks and iSCSI disks?

Thanks

Krrish.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Michael_Black
Level 4
Employee
It sounds like you might need to bring the disks online. Here is the syntax to do this from the CLI:

vxdisk online “HarddiskX (No Signature)”

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

Michael_Black
Level 4
Employee
It sounds like you might need to bring the disks online. Here is the syntax to do this from the CLI:

vxdisk online “HarddiskX (No Signature)”

Michael_Black
Level 4
Employee
Note: If the disks do not have a signature, you will actually have to include "(No Signature)." In Windows 2008, it is necessary to bring the disks online before they can be used. This was not necessary in 2003.

EJameson
Level 3
Employee Accredited
Additionally, once the disks are brought online, you can write a signature to the disks through the CLI by using the following command:

vxdisk sig <Harddisk#>

SFW should see no difference in the way a disk is managed, when comparing iSCSI to Fibre accessible SAN storage.