cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Storage foundation for Windows bandwidth issue..

mrinal_sarkar62
Level 6

Hi,

We  have the following license:-

1.VRTS STORAGE FOUNDATION 6.0 WIN FOR OS TIER STANDARD EDITION PER SERVER STD LIC EXPRESS BAND S

2.VRTS STORAGE FOUNDATION OPTION VOLUME REPLICATOR 6.0 WIN FOR OS TIER STANDARD EDITION PER SERVER STD LIC EXPRESS BAND S

We the following infra:-

1. OS - Windows 2008 R2 Ent.

2. Application - Oracle database 11.2g.(Without RAC)

3. Hardware - RAM - 24GB; HDD - C:, D:, E:.

4. HDD - RAID configured in local system.

5. Oracle application is installed in C Driave and Database is in D Drive.

6. Bandwidth - 24mbps/18-20ms (Shared)

I am new in storage foundation.

Please, help me with my query.

1. Will the above license is enough to replicate the drives.

2. Oracle is in D drive will the software able to replicate the drive.

3. Is the shared bandwidth is enough to replicate in real time.

4. Is there any thing I need to check before installations.

5. Any por and corns ...(if any).

Please, provide the doc links for the same.

Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5

mikebounds
Level 6
Partner Accredited

See answers:

1. Will the above license is enough to replicate the drives.

Yes

2. Oracle is in D drive will the software able to replicate the drive.

Only if D: is a volume in a SFW cluter diskgroup.  If D: is a partition on a basic disk, it cannot be replicated

3. Is the shared bandwidth is enough to replicate in real time.
This depends on how much your database writes - Use Vradvisor to find out

4. Is there any thing I need to check before installations.

Check you have allocated space for the SRL (storage replicator log) and DCM (Data Change Maps which are tiny so you only need a few MB for these)

5. Any por and corns ...(if any).

If D: is on a disk on the same controller as the boot disk, then you need to use "vxclus UseSystemBus ON” so you can create a cluster diskgroup