cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VSF 4.3 upgrade to MP2 help

DJTan
Level 2
Hi everyone,

I am very new to Veritas Storage Foundation and I need your assistance greatly. We have 2 nodes windows 2003 Ent. cluster with Veritas Storage Foundation ver 4.3.1000.350 (from "about server" menu) installed. There is "Paths" tab when viewing the Disks group, so I assume we also have DMP installed? Here are my questions:
1) How to tell if the version is "Veritas Storage Foundation" or "Veritas Storage Foundation HA"?
2) How to tell if we have MP1 installed?

From our current version, we are asked to upgrade to 4.3 MP2 to fix a bug. The MP2 file has 2 versions, the one with "HA" and the one with none. So back to question #1 above, can anyone tell me what our version is. Or, how to check the version. My next questions:
3) If our version doesn't have MP1, can we upgrade to MP2 directly? or do we need to upgrade to MP1 first, then MP2?
4) Any KB or guide for such upgrade?
5) Any known tips/warning about such upgrade for version 4.3?

I apologize for the long post, and any help will be much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Don
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

I apreciate when users ask questions and not merely click 'setup.exe'.
I was battling to find you documentation, since 4.3 is EOL.
http://seer.entsupport.symantec.com/docs/277461.htm:
On January 31, 2010 Standard support for Storage Foundation 4.x for Windows has ended. END OF SUPPORT LIFE is June 18, 2011.
All Releases for Storage Foundation 4.x ... are no longer available for public download as these versions have entered the partial support phase. Please contact support for additional information and availability.

I managed to find the following:
Release Notes for 4.3 MP2 (incl installation instructions)
ftp://exftpp.symantec.com/pub/support/products/Storage_Foundation_for_Windows/288546.pdf