cancel
Showing results forΒ 
Search instead forΒ 
Did you mean:Β 

Array Migration using VxVM on Solaris VCS cluster

sarahjones
Level 2

Hi,

We lost our Unix admin a few months ago who usually administered VxVM for us and now I'm in a position where I need to migrate volumes between arrays. Unfortunately no documentation of how this was successfully achived in the past was taken so I'm looking for some help.

I've seen a number of posts that relate to this but am posting a series of questions again as I'm new to veritas.

The cluster is:

- Solaris 9
- VCS 5.0 and VxVM 5.0 MP1 two node straetched cluster
- Each node has its own storage array and zoning to the EVA and DMX in each data centre
- Qlogic HBAs and Native Sun Driver
- Current Array: HP EVA
- Target Array: EMC DMX
- Current SAN: Brocade (HP-badged)
- Target SAN: Brocade

Migration Plan (with loads of questions) is:

- EMC PowerPath has been installed for multipathing on DMX a few weeks back
- Freeze cluster in main data centre - this node to be used for migration
- Take first channel out of the current SAN fabric 1 and plug it into new SAN fabric 1 in main data centre on active, frozen node.
- Leave both channels from standby node in 2nd data centre in EVA fabrics for now
- Zone and Mask target LUNs from data cetnre 1 and 2 on single HBA in SAN fabric 1.
- Discover LUNs (cfgadm)
- DMX storage managed by PowerPath so list devices using powermt display dev=all to map devices to actual array/LUN
- Initialise disk in VxVM (vxdisksetup -i emcpower56) - repeat for all new LUNs
- Add DMX LUNs to disk groups (vxdg -g testdg adddisk testdgdmx=emcpower56) - repeat for all new LUNs
- Add plexes and mirror (vxassist -g testdg mirror testvol emcpower56)