cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issues with 1TB LUNs Storage Foundation Solaris X86

Noor_Toorabally
Level 4

Hello I have very little knowledge about Storage Foundation and I am getting issues using CDS for LUNs of 1TB on Soalris X86. I cannot find the proper sequence for adding LUNs to VXVM control.

My question would be whether the sequence is correct:

1. Disable MPXIO on the server

2. Present the LUNs (in Multipath)

3. I ran the command luxadm -e forcelip on the hba ports to discover the LUNs

after that, what do I do?

Kind regards,

Noor

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Gaurav_S
   VIP    Certified

That limitation might be there because of product version you are using ... I would assume you would be using 5.0 MP1 or so ?

Not remember exactly but this was sorted out in latest versions to use > 1TB luns ... probably 5.0MP3.

G

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

TonyGriffiths
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Hi

Can you include the following:

- Version of Storage Foundation

- Issue being observed (any error)

- Are the LUNs visible to Solaris

- Arew the LUNs visible to VxVM (vxdisk list)

thanks

Gaurav_S
   VIP    Certified

If you can see the luns in format command ..... you should be able to see them in "vxdisk list" .. make sure you label the disks from format ..

so steps would be:

# devfsadm -Cv

# vxdctl enable

# format   (view the new luns & label them)

# vxdisk -e list    (observe the new luns, they should be in "online invalid" state)

# vxdisksetup -i <diskname>   (will initialize disk in veritas control as cds disk)

# vxdg init <diskgroup> <name>=<disk_name>  (initiate a diskgroup with one or more disks in it)

# vxassist -g <diskgroup> make <volume> <size> (create volume with desired size)

# mkfs -F vxfs /dev/vx/rdsk/<diskgroup>/<volume>  (create filesystem)

# mount -F vxfs /dev/vx/dsk/<diskgroup>/<volume>  /<mount_point>