cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I use BESR on its own as a backup software?

Kirret
Level 3
Hey guys.

Sry for my question but I'm new to Symantec backup software.
As the tilte says, I'd like to know if BESR 8.5 is good enough to be used as the only backup software on SBS 2k8 Standard or is it just realy good with recovery options but not as good with everyday backup schedules?

Regards,

Kirret
6 REPLIES 6

marcogsp
Level 6
Please see my comments here:

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/besr-85

Kirret
Level 3
OK, thats really useful information there marcogsp. Thanks a lot.
So in a perfect enviroment I'd have Backup Exec and Backup Exec System Recovery both installed?

marcogsp
Level 6
I consider them complimetary products.  BESR is more focused on disaster recovery, but you can extract individual files and folders from the images.  The image browser works well and extracts individual files and folders well too.   IMHO, the separate feature for file and folder backups in BESR are not as good as BEWS, (or NTBACKUP for that matter) but you could "get by" with it.

In my environment, I use BESR to capture disaster reovery images at least once per week.  I use BEWS for daily backups.  After recovering an entire system with BESR, I use BEWS to restore the data to the most recent versions captured in the daily backups.