cancel
Showing results forΒ 
Search instead forΒ 
Did you mean:Β 

Having trouble with basic backup scenario

RS
Level 3
Hi, I am new to Symantec System Recovery and want to know whether this scenario is supported. The scenario is to backup to RDX (removable harddisk cartridges), and overwrite each time so that it does not accumulate storage. **Setup** Server: OK: Microsoft Windows SBS 2003 Standard 32-bit Hardware: OK: External RDX Unit USB OK: 320 GB RDX Cartridge Software: OK: Symantec System Recovery 2010 **Storage** Server storage: C: ~136 GB Capacity (26 GB Used, 121 GB Free) E: ~546 GB Capacity (214 GB Used, 347 GB Free) **Scenario** Estimated storage required for a recovery point: 26 GB Used + 214 GB Used = ~240 GB / 320 GB Used Not counting overhead and compression. There are 5 cartridges, Monday - Friday, changed each day. The problem I am encountering is that the cartridge becomes full. I think it's because it was set to use 2 recovery points, but this time I want to be sure before wiping the cartridges again. There is no media protection required for this scenario. Whatever cartridge is inserted, is supposed to be overwritten each time. How can I tell Symantec System Recovery to do this basic task? Basically, this is what has happened. First Week: All RDX Cartridges were formatted with NTFS. RDX Cartridge 1:5 Monday--filled with ~240 GB RDX Cartridge 2:5 Tuesday--filled with ~240 GB RDX Cartridge 3:5 Wednesday--filled with ~240 GB RDX Cartridge 4:5 Thursday--filled with ~240 GB RDX Cartridge 5:5 Friday--filled with ~240 GB Second Week: RDX Cartridge 1:5 Monday--Error EC8F17B7: Cannot create recovery points for job: Drive Backup of System (C:\), Data (E:\). Error ED800016: The target disk is full. (UMI:V-281-3215-6071) etc.. I basically want the software to start a new recovery point each time, and since it is the only thing accessing the cartridges, it should manage to delete or overwrite or whatever it does. These are the new Backup Properties I am tryi