cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Laptop Backup Questions

Biskit
Level 2
Hi,

I'm a newbie to Backup Exec.  I've just downloaded and installed BESR on my laptop.  I'm looking for a backup solution for my laptop that has the ability to backup to a remote server, so for instance when I'm on the road my laptop will backup over the Internet to a server at my office.

I think Backup Exec has this feature in the form of "Offsite Copy" using FTP to transfer my backup files?  Is this the only way to achieve backing up to a remote location when I'm on the road travelling?

Please can someone also confirm whether it is correct that you can only perform an "Offsite Copy" if performing a full disk-based backup?  The problem I have is a backup of my hard disk will be around 200Gb so it is totally unthinkable to try and FTP 200Gb over the Internet to my FTP server!!!  What I'd much prefer to do is select specific files/folders of high importance that contain for example 50Mb of data in total, then just FTP that to my office, but I can't see any way to add Offsite Copy to a file/folder backup.  I can't figure out why this option isn't there for file/folder backups.  Can someone explain, or tell me where I'm going wrong if it is possible?

Many thanks in advance,
Matt
4 REPLIES 4

Markus_Koestler
   VIP   

Sad enough, but that is the way the product works: Offsite copy IS only available for volume based full and incremental backups.

Sush---
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified
Hello Biskit,
   While reading through your post, this idea just stuck me about backing just important files and folder.

AS per your post you do not want to backup the whole drives which can be around 200 GB but just some Important files and folder which can be around 50 MB.

So here is the Tailor made solution for you.

1) Create a new small drive on the server .... lets say 5 GB  (or even less than that if your files are going to be in MBs)