cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Media Rotation and Management

Eddie_Stevens
Level 2

I am new to BESR, I am used to BE. I am trying to apply what I know about media rotation in BE to BESR and I am getting confused. I have a Dell RD1000 backup drive with 3 media cartridges. What I would like to do is to have a full backup run on Monday, and then incremental backups run on Tuesday through Friday, all on the same cartridge. Then, each weekend, the cartridge would get rotated out. After three weeks, the first cartridge is back in. That one will get put in the drive and should get overwritten. With BE, the Overwrite Protection Period” can be configured to manage the media retention period. But how do you accomplish the same thing in BESR? I assume it has to do with the part about “Limiting the number of recovery point sets”. Does that value get applied per media cartridge or per backup job? I would appreciate any help that anyone can provide. I am setting this up in an office where there is no one that knows anything about computers. I just need a simple “tape-monkey” solution.

3 REPLIES 3

criley
Employee Accredited

I assume it has to do with the part about “Limiting the number of recovery point sets”. Does that value get applied per media cartridge or per backup job?

This value is per job, not per backup destination.

Andreas_Horlach
Level 6
Employee Accredited

To add what Chris said, if at all possible, it is recommended that you clean off the media after it is rotatated. For example, when catridge A is ejected after a week of backups, and B is inserted, clean the old backups files off of B before the next backup job initiates. Old backup files on rotating media can confuse BESR and cause the cartridge to eject even when the button has not been pressed.

DaveT
Level 4
Partner

Are you leaving the cartridge in the drive all week?  If yes, what happens during a true disaster?  Fire, flood, anything that could destroy the Server.