cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SRD credentials

Liviu
Level 3

I am a beginner, testing System Recovery 2013 R2 Desktop edition. I created a SRD on Win 7. I boot a computer with SRD (Windows XP on it, no System Recovery installed). testing purpose is cold backup and remote recovery. from the System Recovery on Win 7 I try to connect to SRD. it asks for credentials. I do not know which credentials to introduce. please, help.

thank you very much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

criley
Employee Accredited

There is nothing within the product that allows you to do this (we used to include pcAnywhere but Symantec unfortunately end-of-lifed that product).

If you are using SSR with servers that have remote insight boards (i.e. HP iLO), you could use this solution.

However, for desktops/laptops, this clearly is not an option. The only solution I know that should work for this is UltraVNC.

View solution in original post

23 REPLIES 23

criley
Employee Accredited

from the System Recovery on Win 7 I try to connect to SRD

Not sure why you are trying to do this? Can you explain please?

Liviu
Level 3

thank you for reply! for remote recovery purpose, from a remote location. but first I try from inside the network, to learn the steps.

criley
Employee Accredited

For remote recovery, you need to browse to the backup files (know as recovery points). Your comment is really the wrong way round ...

In other words:

• Run a backup (via SSR or via the recovery disk)
  • Boot machine using recovery disk
  • Browse to location where recovery points are stored
  • Run restore

Hope that helps.

Liviu
Level 3

is it possible to connect to SRD from a remote location ? that was my question. thank you very much!

criley
Employee Accredited

Do you mean - can you remote control the SRD session from a remote location?

Liviu
Level 3

YES!

criley
Employee Accredited