cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SSR 2013 "Symantec System Recovery service terminated unexpectedly"

Coldforest
Level 3

Hi,

I've been using SSR 2013 on my Win7/64 desktop for a couple years now and it's been working fine. I recently (six weeks ago) upgraded to v11.0.2.49853 (which is SSR 2013 SP2 I believe) after installing a Synology DS414slim appliance (to offload some of the internal desktop RAID1 storage). This device is set up as an iSCSI target, which was necessary to get SSR to see it as a source device for backup. SSR backs up this source to a NAS destination (a Seagate BlackArmor appliance).

This seemed to work fine initially but lately (the last month) I've been getting vprosvc.exe terminations whenever I try to backup this drive (this happens consistently and may have coincided with the SP2 update?):

Faulting application name: VProSvc.exe, version: 11.0.2.49853, time stamp: 0x52ad3597
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7601.18869, time stamp: 0x556366f2
Exception code: 0xc0000374
Fault offset: 0x00000000000bfc22
Faulting process id: 0x2b30
Faulting application start time: 0x01d0ce5fda3c58c4
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Symantec\Symantec System Recovery\Agent\VProSvc.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: 93b31272-3b37-11e5-82d1-180373b39665

What can I do to troubleshoot and/or fix this?

Note: backup jobs for the internal desktop drives is working fine. Other accesses to the iSCSI drive on the DS414slim seem to work fine (i.e., Explorer and other applications that use data on this drive all seem fine).

Thanks in advance,

-David

PS: I've been wondering why there's been no update to SSR 2013 for a while (this software was originally released way back in 2012 I believe). After browsing around the site I see that there is an SSR 2013 *R2* version. What is this? Is it different than SSR 2013 SP2? Can I upgrade to this version?

6 REPLIES 6

lmosla
Level 6