cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Symantec BESR 2010 Management Solution: Cannot edit my Named Resource Targets!!??

Stefan_Davidov
Level 3
Hi, I am a Systems Administrator evaluating Symantec BackupExec System Recovery 2010 Desktop Edition for an enterprise domain which consists of roughly 250 machines. General backup tasks are performed daily at server level by a third party software. On the other hand a group (or groups) of  laptops should be backed up on a regular basis. The latter task has been accomplished through Altiris Recovery Solution 6.2  working on an Altiris Notification Server.
Current tests of BESR 2010 are looking good, but I am facing a some important obstacles... Here is what I,ve done so far:

1) Installed the BESR 2010 Management Solution on a domain server for centralized management of backups.
2) Defined a netork share for storage of recovery points (recovery point sets)
3) Installed the Altiris Agent and BESR 2010 Client Plugin on a single test computer and saved a "named resource target" called "TEST*** GRUP*" by using the procedure shown in "Stage 3.jpg".
4) Installed the Backup Exec System Recovery 2010 on the computer using an install policy assigned to the target "TEST*** GRUP*" which (now that I have saved it) I could easily find with the Quick apply link available in any policy .
5) Created and activated a backup policy named  "Backup Policy TEST 1" for a weekly creation of recovery point sets which we can store for a month back in time and also assigned it to the "TEST*** GRUP*" target.
6) Created a backup policy task named "Run Backup Policy TEST 1 ASAP" to have the ability to Quick Run the policy whenever I decided just to test if it works - again worked fine when assigned to the "TEST*** GRUP*" target. - "Stage 4.jpg"
7) Created client configuration policies refering to Event Log, Performance, SMTP Notification and Tray Icon and again - assigned it to the "TEST*** GRUP*" target.