cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which Backup Exec to Buy for Dedicated Server?

Jon_Wu
Level 2
Hi - I am new to backing up data so I am looking for some advice. I have a dedicated server with running Windows 2003 Server that is hosted with a webhosting company. I would like to back it up and be able to

1) do a system restore in case it fails. (server burns up, disk fails, disaster happens)
2) replicate the server onto another machine so that I can load balance it.

My question is:

1) Will Backup Exec install/work for a dedicated server that is located remotely?

My server is located at GoDaddy so I don't have physical access to the machine. I have full Windows 2003 Server privileges so I can access it remotely using Remote Desktop. Will I be able to install Backup Exec on it remotely? That is, not being in front of the machine?

When I back up my data, I want to be able to store it on another machine - on a computer at home. If I install Backup Exec on my dedicated server, will it be able to transfer the data off the dedicated server to my machine at home? Or does the backup disk have to be attached?

2) Which version of Backup Exec should I buy?

I see there is BackupExec for Windows Servers and BackupExec System Recovery Server Edition. I am new to this. What is the difference between these 2 systems? Why are they named differently?

3) Can I use Backup Exec to replicate my dedicated server continuously onto another machine?

Basically I want to duplicate my dedicated server. The traffic on it is getting heavy.

Thanks for your responses in advance! This is my first time trying to learn about Backup Exec so I'm trying to get the hang of things.
2 REPLIES 2

ray_littlefie1
Level 6
Good Questions.

Its important to understand that products either replicate data & services (for high availability) or backup data (for data protection/disaster recovery). No one product can do both equally well.