cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reports grouped by (user added) Host attribute?

jewettdn423
Level 3

Hello,  

New user to IT Analytics.  I had a question, if anyone has added custom host attributes and figured out how to reference them in the SQL query commands. 

A few days ago Ernie graciously walked me though adding custom host attributes and I was able to load the values to the ITA database for an attribute ie: 'Svc_Grp'.    Using the Ad Hoc occupancy report,  as one example -  I am trying to group/sum the aggregation of all hosts matching a given value in that added attribute.    Total noob question, as I have yet to digest the ITA training as of yet.  If I can reference that added attribute I think I can tweak the stock template to pull by this attribute.   
TIA !

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

ZenOfAnalytics
Level 4
Employee

Take a look at APT_V_SERVER_ATTRIBUTE.  That view shows a row for each host (aka client) in the system, followed by a column for each attribute name.  In some cases (e.g. LOCATION => LOCATION_1)  the column for the attribute will have an "_1" appended.

To add attributes, you will join APT_V_SERVER_ATTRIBUTE to other views.  For example, to add the ENVIRONMENT attribute to a client report based on APT_V_JOB, the code snippet would be:

SELECT DISTINCT j.client_name,
sa.environment
FROM apt_v_job j,
apt_v_server_attribute sa
WHERE j.client_id = sa.host_id

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

ZenOfAnalytics
Level 4
Employee

Take a look at APT_V_SERVER_ATTRIBUTE.  That view shows a row for each host (aka client) in the system, followed by a column for each attribute name.  In some cases (e.g. LOCATION => LOCATION_1)  the column for the attribute will have an "_1" appended.

To add attributes, you will join APT_V_SERVER_ATTRIBUTE to other views.  For example, to add the ENVIRONMENT attribute to a client report based on APT_V_JOB, the code snippet would be:

sa.environment