cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issue of after replace a new LTO-5 Data Cartridge

imskim
Level 3

Dear all expert,

I am just a beginner at netbackup .. first at all thanks so much with you guys to save my life when reading my post..

I am usuing netbackup 7.1.0.4 and I just found a tape have problem after inventory.

Therefore , I release the orginal lable from the old tape and paste it at the new tape .

After inventory, the name of the tape is shown at the robot again, but there have a error after i try to backup.

3/15/2016 12:21:00 - mounting 3002L5
03/15/2016 12:22:27 - Warning bptm(pid=5088) media id 3002L5 load operation reported an error     
03/15/2016 12:22:27 - current media 3002L5 complete, requesting next resource Any

is that any other step I need to process after I replaced the tape ?

Please please please kindly advise, thanks millions !!!!!

IT beginner

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

RiaanBadenhorst
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

expire using bpexpdate -m 3002L5 -d 0

then go to the NetBackup GUI > Media section and delete the media from the list.

Run the inventory again

Try the backup again. You might need to label the tape again using bplabel but lets try above steps first.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

RiaanBadenhorst
Level 6

Hi,

So you had one media called 3002L5, then it was faulty, so you removed it from the robot, took off the label and stuck it on a new media?

Is that what you did, or did i miss something?

imskim
Level 3

Hi Riaan,

Many thanks for your reply and you are totally right !I have no idea that what should i do after replace the media.

I am sorry that i dont know too much of netbackup and still learning, please kindly advise when you have chance, thanks !!

Best Regards,

Kim

imskim
Level 3

Hi Riaan,

Many thanks for your reply and you are totally right !I have no idea that what should i do after replace the media.