cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netbackup 5.1 bpsched issue on HP-UX

etmsreec
Level 3

Hi,

Newbie here, so apologies for any errors in formatting or etiquette.

We have a Netbackup installation running v5.1MP6 on HP-UX.  Yes, it's old, yes we'd like to retire it or upgrade.

It seems to have stopped scheduling jobs all for itself?  It's been reliable and happy up to just before the holidays, but now the scheduling of backups seems to have started to fail.

We have restarted NBU a couple of times, which doesn't seem to have made any difference.

We are seeing the following message in the bpsched log file (once I'd created the directory for it to log bpsched to):

10:21:30.620 [16340] <2> bpsched: INITIATING (verbose=0) ...
10:21:30.621 [16340] <2> bpsched: BPRD PPID = 20591
10:21:30.621 [16340] <2> logparams: /usr/openv/netbackup/bin/bpsched -ppid 20591
10:21:30.621 [16340] <2> bpsched_main: wait_on_que=0, timeout_in_que=36000, reread_interval=300,queue_on_error=0, bptm_query_timeout=480, s_m 0
10:21:30.871 [16340] <2> LOCAL CLASS_ATT_DEFS: Product ID = 6
10:21:31.109 [16340] <8> bpsched_main: another regular bpsched is already examining the policy configuration
10:21:31.110 [16340] <4> bpsched: scheduler exiting - regular bpsched is already running (214)
10:31:30.249 [18497] <2> bpsched: INITIATING (verbose=0) ...
10:31:30.249 [18497] <2> bpsched: BPRD PPID = 20591
10:31:30.249 [18497] <2> logparams: /usr/openv/netbackup/bin/bpsched -ppid 20591
10:31:30.249 [18497] <2> bpsched_main: wait_on_que=0, timeout_in_que=36000, reread_interval=300,queue_on_error=0, bptm_query_timeout=480, s_m 0
10:31:30.482 [18497] <2> LOCAL CLASS_ATT_DEFS: Product ID = 6
10:31:30.714 [18497] <8> bpsched_main: another regular bpsched is already examining the policy configuration
10:31:30.715 [18497] <4> bpsched: scheduler exiting - regular bpsched is already running (214)
10:41:30.389 [20828] <2> bpsched: INITIATING (verbose=0) ...