Forum Discussion

bbot
Level 4
9 years ago

NetBackup jobs failing with error 129 (insufficient disk space)

Hello,

We have a couple clients failing to backup to the same storage. There's over 1 TB available on our storage server. The size of all the full client backups are no longer than 300 gb.

Watermark is set to 98% high water mark, 80% low water mark.

I'm fairly new to netbackup,, where should I be looking to find out the root cause?

• oh my bad.. i read that wrong.. 

Then i would suggest setting the low water mark to 90% and the high leave at 98% see if it lets you store to the unit. the only other thing i can think of without a test environment of my own is that its hitting the low and failing which shouldnt happen but ive seen wierder things. 

*Edit*

Do you have disk stagin enabled on the basic storage unit? are there images that have yet to duplicate off? 

8 Replies

• What kind of storage server are you using ?

Do you have Advandced Disk or Media server deduplication or appliance ?

What is the size of the diskpool ?

With

bpimage -cleanup -allclients  and

nbdelete -allvolumes

you may cleanup your storage if you have expired images or old fragments on it.

• Storage server is running Windows Server 2012.

I believe we use dedupe. Where can I verify these settings? How can I check the diskpool?

Regarding the bpimage and nbdelete commands, shouldn't netbackup be automatically cleaning expired images or old fragments? Or should the command be ran manually when there are issues?

• Root cause is this setting "Watermark is set to 98% high water mark, 80% low water mark."

NetBackup will only start to cleanup when it reaches the high water mark, in your situation that mean, when its used 980 GB. And as you've said, your backups are 300GB. So by the time it needs to start cleaning, it also needs to have 300gb available to perform the daily backups. 

Clearly this is not possible.