Forum Discussion

manioro
Level 3
12 years ago

How to setup backup to Robotic library?

Hi,

First of all I would like to mention that I have no experience with backup to Robotic library, threfore I will appreciate your help:)

So far we have been using backup to disk but since we don't have anymore access to our offiste backup server, we are kind of force to go back to tapes and send them away to the secure offiste location.

What I'm trying to do is to setup a weekly full backup to my Robotic library which contains 8 partition (8 separate tapes in HP Autoloader 1/8 G2). 

I'm using Backup Exec 2012 and so far I have manged to install BE drivers for the Autoloader, but now I have no idea;) what next I should do in order to  backup weekly to each partition/tape so it can be automatically ejected and I can send it away lets say every Monday.

Ideally I would like to duplicate our weekly B2D to the tape. How can I do this? What are the best best practices to do so?

I'm not sure aslo if my Robotic library is properly configured, please see attachment. As you can see each partition/tape shows 0 byte free, I assume this is wrong.

Regards,

Manioro

• Look in each partition to ensure you see a tape (ie a bar code label).  Assuming these are overwritable (ie reusable tapes), I would run an erase job on a tape.  That will confirm functionality and it should then also give you a free byte count like you expect.

I am not a fan of software partitioning, so I would suggest leaving the library as an 8 slot loader, rather than 8 1 slot partitions, but that is up to you.

To add a tape stage to your existing disk backups, you would edit the disk backup job, then click on "add stage" to have the disk backup copied to tape.

• I too am not a fan of partitioning.  I believe that is cause more harm than good.  See my blog

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/blogs/partitions-should-be-banned